It is sad when a Hindu asks: “Can you define the Hindu religion or who is a Hindu?”

It is an indication of Dharma glaani within some Hindus.

A Hindu is defined below in an easy way by negation:

  1. You are a Hindu if you are not a Muslim, Christian, or a Jew, or a communist or Naxalist.
  2. You are a Hindu if you do not insist on Sharia, do not go to mosque or madrassas or churches.
  3. You are a Hindu if you never force your religion on any person by force or enticement.
  4. You are a Hindu if you do not kill cow, and do not engage in a business part from growing cows for slaughter to cooking to cow meat or distributing cooked or uncooked cow meat.
  5. You are a Hindu if you do not hate Rama, Krishna, Vishnu, Shiva, Durga, Ganesh, Hanuman, etc.

Did you get the idea?

Now please tell me why you are a Hindu or not a Hindu.

I am a Hindu. Can you prove I am not?

On what ground you can prove one is not a Hindu?

Now I will define a Hindu in positive way.

  1. You are a Hindu if you respect others right to think and speak freely; and act in a way that does not hurt an innocent in any way.
  2. You are a Hindu if you accept the fact that one reincarnates after death.
  3. You are a Hindu if you respect Vedic gurus, Vedic saadhus, and Vedic shastras.
  4. You are a Hindu if you understand that the jiva-atmaa within a body does not die when a body dies.
  5. The Veda is most ancient scripture that provides complete science of spirituality (अध्यात्म ज्ञान.) It has 20,000 mantras in Sanskrit. A 700-verse short summary of the Veda is Srimad Bhagavad Gita which is just a chapter in the greatest epic Mahabharat. The knowledge of Gita existed even before Bhagavaan Vyasdev wrote it in Mahabhaarat or when Bhagavaan Krishna spoke to Arjun in the battle of Kurukshetra.  Gita is well known in the world as The Book of Hindu Dharma. So, you are a Hindu if you respect Gita, and read every day or occasionally when you need some guidance in life.

Gita/Krishna provides a number of yogas that are ways to advance spiritually.  Krishna never says only this yog is the way to advance spiritually because every person is different based on its past lives’ actions, sanskaaras, family line traditions, etc. Being so, just one yog is not suitable for all. Those with a lot of brain power choose gyan yog; those with a lot of energy to act choose karma yog; those with a lot of capacity to love choose bhakti yog; those with mental ability choose dhyaan yog, etc.

Vedic (that is Hindu) dharma is like an open source software. Form a variety of yogas and saaadhnas you are free to choose what suits you. Then you practice your chosen way and show your self that you did advance spiritually. You can think of god as a male or as a female. You can worship Vishnu (Rama, Krishna, Parashuram, Narashimha), Shiva, Durga (Amba, Bahuchara, Sarasvati, Laxmi, Kaali, etc), Ganesh, Kaartikeya, Hanumaan or Suurya. It is best to choose a yoga by the guidance of a bona fide guru and practice per his/her guidance.

An indication to see if you advance spiritually is if you are living with less sin than you were living before. No matter what yog you choose, its practice helps you advance spiritually.

So, if you strive to live more and more sin-free, you are a Hindu.

So then, what is a sin?

A sin is an act that God (or guru, sadhu or Vedic shaastra) said you should not do.

A short article at below link also describes who is a Hindu.

Is it enough? See below video.

Did the above info help you in any way?

Jaya sri Krishna!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s